Genetic Mutation

I just read an article about an interesting find by scientists regarding a specific gene mutation that may be responsible for excessive drinking. I have often wondered if this was the case as far as drinking…and possibly even smoking. I have long believed that you are either a smoker…or you’re not a smoker. Despite trying really hard to be a smoker when I was in college, it just never grabbed a hold of me. I just decided at one point that it was stupid to smoke when I didn’t really enjoy it…so I stopped cold turkey.

But I also quit drinking cold turkey and have never been tempted to drink at all in the last four years. So I wonder if I have the gene mutation or not.

 

One thought on “Genetic Mutation

  1. I absolutely believe that it is. I think certain personalities are more addictive than others. My grandfather was an alcoholic for years and when he quit, he became “addicted” to other things.. ham radio, trains, woodworking, etc. No matter what he did it, it was excessive.

Leave a comment